top of page

Japanese people and manners

As with many cultures, it is usually difficult to label people as we are all unique. However, after spending one month in Japan, I would like to highlight some of the striking differences between Japanese and European cultures.

Actually, when I came to Japan I did not know anything about Japanese people. I met a few people on my previous travels. But I did not have any idea how they are.

So one big difference, that you realise immediately - people are extremely polite in Japan.

Maybe the word super polite would suit better. They are going beyond the limits to help you. For example, when I was standing with the map and looking for the right direction to the place, which I wanted to visit, I didn’t need to ask anyone for assistance, but people came to help me themselves. And this happened to me almost EVERY DAY. Or another nice example, while I was eating lunch on top of a mountain, one Japanese lady came to me and offered me half of her lunch. So this gives an insight into how they are. They use lots of "Arigatou gozaimasu" (which means thank you) and please. They are never rude and always try to help if they can.

Also, I would like to point out, that people from the cities are different, than the people from the towns or countrysides. I had a beautiful experience to compare people from Tokyo or Osaka (big cities) and Kyoto and Nara (town and countryside). And as everywhere else, people, who live closer to Nature are connected more with their inside. So they are happier, less stressed and anxious. People from the big cities are more lost in the materialistic World, which is not fulfilling them in the end.

It is hard to lose anything in Japan. Because these people never steal. To give you some examples. My friend left her phone in Lavatory and when she realized it (after one hour) she came back to the place and the phone was still there. Another example, I left some important documents in one temple I came back another day and the documents were there. If you loose something in Japan, it is more likely, that you get your things back, than anywhere else in the world. Also many times, I have been walking with the open bag (that is my specialty) and no one ever stolen anything from me.

People of Japan are very disciplined. They like to follow the rules. And they have a good reason for that. Japan is a small nation with a large population. They have to have some discipline to live here in the peaceful way. So some interesting examples. If they have red, they do not cross the street even if there are no cars. If you have to pay for something the exactly price, you should give them the price it is. Otherwise they get stressed. Everything must be as it is written.(But even against this fact, they let me go few times for free in the bus :)). Also if you wait in the queue, you should never jump it. You have to wait exactly where you are. And they have queues for everything, waiting for the train, waiting in the shop, waiting on the street.

People do not dispose of litter on the street​. You can hardly find public rubbish bins. I really like this idea, so you have to think twice before you are buying something, because you will carry your rubbish all the way to your home. So less rubbish, less plastic, less harm to our beautiful planet Earth.

Separated gender. Japan is the country full of traditions and cultures. So they have some trains which are just for the female gender. Also they have some hostels which are just for men. Same they have with the restaurants, some restaurants are just for the men. Usually it is connected with the standards. For example if the hostel is just for men, it means they have hardly some facilities.

People like to be quiet. Japanese people to compare to many other nationalities like to be quite. It is probably related to their politeness. On trains, people travel in silence which promotes rest on trains. In the big cities and city centers it is different. But in the small towns you can hardly hear some noise. If they play music, quietly, if they speak quietly.

Nearly everything get closed with the dusk. If you are planning to visit some museum, coffee shop or gallery, be aware that the most of the shops are getting to closed before 6 PM, expect the supermarkets and some restaurants. So in Japan you should definitely wake up early and enjoy the daily light.

For Japanese people is very important, how they look. Japanese people are always smart and well dressed. Women usually were long skirts and t-shirts, which are not too tight.

And at least but definitely not last I would like to say, that the Japanese people give lots of love to their children. I never seen shout mum or father at their children. If the child cries, they give him or her a kind touch and smile. I saw many fathers with the child in carries bags., playing and feeding them.They give so much love and care to their children and that is probably the reason, why I seen just kind people from Japan. They already know, what love is. I hope we could all follow this wonderful example. And give to our childern just love and support.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page